jump to navigation

How Fast Does Google Index This Page? SEO 101? February 6, 2010

Posted by bernardlunn in Uncategorized.
trackback

When I post on Read Write Web, it is indexed by Google within minutes. That is no surprise as it is a high traffic blog with high Page Rank score.

But I was very surprised to find a post that I wrote on this blog indexed within 15 minutes. It might have been quicker than that. My method was crude:

- post

- some time later (in this case 15 minutes) Google the headline

So maybe it was 10 minutes? or 5 minutes? For this obscure long tail blog. Hey, welcome visitor, this is a really exclusive club, no riff raff here I can assure you. OK, maybe nobody here :-)

My test # 1 was on this blog post:

http://bernardlunn.wordpress.com/2010/01/30/punk-manufacturing-the-next-industrial-revolution/

My Google search: punk manufacturing.

My test # 2 was on this blog post:

http://bernardlunn.wordpress.com/2010/02/06/blogging-as-a-useful-distraction/

My Google search:blogging useful distraction

Result: hours later, nada.

My test # 3 will be on this post. I am testing a theory. On Test # 1 I linked to Wired, a high Page Rank site. Theory: Google looks at links to determine how fast to index. Is that possible? I know nothing about how spiders really work.

So on this post I am going to link to Danny Sullivan. Methinks Google pays attention to him :-) Hi Danny, here is some random link love:

http://searchengineland.com/google-recommends-the-competition-on-your-place-page-35316

So, now I will post, wait a few minutes, Google and update this page with result.

10 mins: nada

Surprise: nothing on Twitter either.

But found lots of other people exploring this subject:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&hs=Wot&tbo=1&output=search&q=How%20Fast%20Does%20Google%20Index&tbs=qdr:y&ei=9-5tS_38A4nM8Qbhs4WQBg&sa=X&oi=tool&resnum=5&ct=tlink&ved=0CB4QpwU

Maybe it is about search popularity? Punk Manufacturing is obscure. How fast does Google Index is a big SEO concern. So maybe I am there but on later pages?

Tried as far as page 5: nada

Result of my test? Who the hell knows?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,530 other followers

